NAC Award

National Arts Centre Award for Distinguished Contribution to Touring

Established in 1992, the $2,500 award honours exceptional achievement in fostering the touring of live performance arts in Canada. The recipient—who also received a specially-designed exquisite porcelain sculpture by Gatineau’s Paula Murray—was chosen from nominations solicited from within the industry and was selected by a committee composed of presenters, artists, management and representatives from the National Arts Centre and CAPACOA.


2014 Recipient

The National Arts Centre (NAC) is pleased to announce that Alain Paré (CINARS) was awarded the 2014 NAC Award for Distinguished Contribution to Touring in the Performing Arts. Read more

The National Arts Centre award was presented at the gala dinner on Saturday, January 25, during CAPACOA’s 25th Conference, “The Culture of Curiosity”, which took place from January 23 to 26 in Toronto.


Previous recipients

Peter Feldman (2013), Ballet Jörgen Canada (2011), La danse sur les routes du Québec (2010), Uriel Luft (2009), the Organization of Saskatchewan Arts Councils (2008), Judy Harquail (2007), Ottie Lockey (2006), Colin McIntyre (2005), CBC Radio/la radio de Radio-Canada (2004), Debut Atlantic (2003), Richard Stoker (2002), Nicholas Goldschmidt (2001), Bruce Owen (2000), the Royal Winnipeg Ballet (1999), David Haber (1998), Dr. Elmer Iseler (1997), Jean-Paul Gagnon (1996), Hugh Davidson (1995), Mark Porteous (1994), George Zukerman (1993), and CAPACOA (1992).

The National Arts Centre is Canada’s pre-eminent showcase for the performing arts and the catalyst for the performing arts nationally. It is home to the internationally acclaimed National Arts Centre Orchestra, and is a leader in the presentation of music, dance, English and French theatre, variety and community programming. CAPACOA is a federally incorporated, non-profit pan-Canadian organization serving the performing arts touring and presenting field.